consolidation

Monday last week, our site’s warden called to tell me we got the call we’d been expecting: Consolidation. Part of Peace Corps’ Safety and Security efforts include having a consolidation drill, wherein all volunteers are to stop what they’re doing and report to to the warden’s home ASAP. It’s done once a year, and hadn’t happened in my first 7 months at site, so we had recently been wondering when it would happen.

During Consolidation, PCVs are expected to bring their sleeping bags, emergency contact information (as in, those local people we call in an emergency, not our individual information), snacks, water, and stuff to keep ourselves occupied since we don’t know how long we’ll be holed up together. In addition to contacting and hosting all the volunteers, the Warden logs how long it takes for each person to arrive and relays this information back to Peace Corps’ Safety and Security Officer. (I’m the Sub-Warden, so this will be my charge next year.)

I was the third and final PCV to arrive. I thought I’d made good time but was surprised that it took me 31 minutes (even though I live the farthest from the Warden). When I walked in the door, the Warden said, “now that you’re all here, April Fools!” They made up for it with chocolate chip pancackes, though.

3 Responses to consolidation

  1. Kathy P. Willis says:

    So “kewl”. LOL

  2. Priscilla A. Arsenault says:

    Is one of the reasons to have a “consolidation drill” in place is in case of the event of a conflict or unrest in the area or country you’re serving in, to make sure all PCVs are safe and out of harm’s way? Since you lived the farthest, 31 min. doesn’t sound too bad; how long did it take the other two though? If say, only 3-5 min., then I can see why your 31 min. might’ve seemed long! What will YOU serve when you’re the “warden” next year, maybe Chocolate, Chocolate Chip Pancakes (chocolate in the batter, chocolate chips in the batter, melted chocolate drizzled on top of cooked pancakes, a few chocolate chips tossed on top of the drizzle, mmmm, you can never have too much chocolate!).

    • eelevol says:

      That’s exactly the reason, Priscilla. Our Safety and Security Officer must know our whereabouts at all times. When we want to leave site, we must fill out a form requesting permission and have it signed by our Supervisor and then PC officials. When we arrive at our destination, and when we return, we must inform them. I forgot to call or text when I left UB for my aimag after vacation in December, and they called me the next morning to verify my location.

Leave a Reply

