site packages

11/3/2012: THIS IS OUTDATED INFORMATION, PRESERVED FOR POSTERITY. PLEASE VISIT THE MAIL INFO PAGE FOR THE MOST UP-TO-DATE REQUESTS.

 

Today marks four weeks since I landed in Govi-Altai, Mongolia. I refer you to my original blog for the preamble regarding sending packages—that all still holds true.

That out of the way, this is a list of current items I could use during the next two years at my permanent site:

Lentils and Beans – kidney, black, garbanzo – they store well, are an excellent source of protein and fiber, and we don’t have ’em! Every once in a while, there’s a lone can of “beans in tomato sauce” (which I snatch up) but dry beans would be more versatile,

Spices – cumin, chili powder, ginger, curry, something like Lipton Onion Soup mix. Feel free to remove a portion from your own jar and put it in a labeled baggie, then send it off in an envelope,

Oatmeal,

Granola and/or fiber bars – still haven’t seen them,

Burt’s Bees Lip Balm – I don’t generally abide by brand loyalty, but on this one I don’t have a choice. I’ve developed a reaction to other lip balms and I suspect it indicates a mild allergy to the ingredient “flavor” that is absent from the Burt’s Bees label,

Gatorade powder (or REI equivalent) or energy gel like cliff mocha – for all those incredible hikes. As I recall, family members are allowed to use my REI membership by giving my name, but the card # is 12070850,

Dry beverage powder (such as Crystal Light) – probably any flavor,

Hard candies – Mongolians have a big sweet tooth and ALWAYS offer candy to guests. Think of me when they go on sale after holidays or to stuff into the little extra space of a package of something else,

Throat lozenges – not for sore throats, per se.  I live in the desert now and the dry air has me waking up parched every morning,

Yarn! – assorted weights, colors, etc. – remnants absolutely fine, hit up a thrift store for me. Keep me productive on those long, cold winter nights ahead,

Lotion – not needed now, as I haven’t exhausted my supply from home, but when those holiday sales kick in or there’s a free-with-purchase trial size, I could use it. My cuticles are a wreck! Have I mentioned I live in the desert?

USB flash drives –I don’t want anyone to go out and buy USB flash drives! but if you happened to have conference freebies laying about (or maybe a 128MB one like I found at home before I left), and you don’t know what to do with it, I’ll gladly take it off your hands. Even better if you want to throw some media files on it!

Finally, Sunscreen minimum 30 SPF – Now that summer ‘tis but a distant memory, this can be on a hold list. But I don’t dare remove it after this summer.

Now that I am at my permanent site (and items do not have to go to the PC headquarters before being re-routed to me), packages take about 3 weeks, letters/cards about 2 weeks.

If you do decide to send something, use USPS, not courier services, because they require a visit to the capital for signature. And if you don’t send a package, that’s cool too.

3 Responses to site packages

  1. Robin says:

    Awesome! I will do my best to get something out next month. I received your letter! I’m not sure how long ago you sent it, but it just got to me a few days ago. Thanks 🙂

  2. Maryse says:

    This is perfect. We’ve been thinking about what to send you.

  3. Priscilla A. Arsenault says:

    Perfect timing, w/Sept more than 1/2 over and Halloween stuff everywhere, that means Thanksgiving and Christmas are just around the corner and Rachel, Ellen & I were just talking about putting a pkg together for you and sending it in time for Christmas. We were going to go by your old list but this update is just what the doctor ordered, thanks!

Leave a Reply

